Out This Week 9/29

As we mentioned in today’s Music News round-up, Prince has returned with not one, but two new albums this week: a solo album titled Art Official Age, and one with his band 3rdEyeGirl called PlectrumElectrum.

Famed Scottish indiepop duo The Vaselines also return today with the album V For Vaselines. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the album “finds them adopting a bigger, punchier sound and bringing a brasher, Ramones-inspired punk edge to their jangly twee-pop, with loud, fuzzy guitars and energetic rhythms bolstering the duo’s effervescent harmonies, sparkling pop hooks and often-dark lyrics.”

Former Girls frontman Christopher Owens shares his second solo album, which “finds him hooking up with some of his former bandmates while also blending elements of R&B, country and gospel into his wistful pop-rock for a strong set of rootsy tunes combining acoustic and electric guitars, pealing pedal steel and occasional gospel backing vocals with Owens’ breathy vocals and heartfelt, deeply personal lyrics of love, regrets and redemption.” (Owens will be LIVE on KEXP on Tuesday, October 7th at 1:00 PM PST.)

UK band The History Of Apple Pie share their sophomore serving of “‘90s-influenced fuzz-pop with distorted shoegazerish guitars, atmospheric keyboards, soft vocals and sugary pop melodies.” JEFF the Brotherhood release their covers EP, Dig the Classics. The third album from The Rural Alberta Advantage “features a bigger, more polished sound for their anthemic folk-pop, combining acoustic and electric guitars, keyboards and prominent percussion with stirring melodies, sing-along choruses and heartfelt lyrics of love and loss.” And the debut from duo Electric Youth “is a promising set of moody electro-pop with twinkling synths, ethereal vocals and wistful melodies.”

3rdEyeGirl / Prince – “Clouds”
from PlectrumElectrum on Warner Bros.

Alice Gerrard – “Boll Weevil”
from Follow the Music on Tompkins Square

Christopher Owens – “Never Wanna See That Look Again”
from A New Testament on Turnstile

Ed Motta – “S.O.S Amor”
from AOR on Tummy Touch

Electric Youth – “Runaway”
from Innerworld on Secretly Canadian

Estrogen Highs – “Argyle Enthusiast”
from Hear Me on the Number Station on Trouble in Mind

The History of Apple Pie – “Jamais Vu”
from Feel Something on Marshall Teller

JEFF the Brotherhood – “Something in the Way” (Nirvana cover)
from Dig the Classics on Warner Bros.

Jimbo Mathus – “Hiway At Night”
from Jimmy the Kid reissue on Big Legal Mess Records / Fat Possum

Kat Edmonson – “Oh My Love”
from The Big Picture on Masterworks

The Limiñanas – “A Dead Swan”
from I’ve Got Trouble in Mind: 7″ and Rare Stuff 2009-2014 on Trouble in Mind

Lucinda Williams – “West Memphis”
from Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone on Highway 20 Records

Luke Winslow-King – “Everlasting Arms”
from Everlasting Arms on Bloodshot

Lydia Ainsworth – “White Shadows”
from Right from Real on Arbutus Records

Oasis – “Morning Glory”
from (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? reissue on Big Brother Recordings

Ólöf Arnalds – “Half Steady”
from Palme on One Little Indian

Paul White – “Shaker Notes”
from Shaker Notes on R&S

Pieta Brown – “Flowers Of Love”
from Paradise Outlaw on Red House Records

The Pine Hill Haints – “Ms. Pacman”
from The Magik Sounds of the Pine Hill Haints on K Records

Populous – “Fall (feat. Cuushe)”
from Night Safari on Bad Panda Records / Folk Wisdom

Prince – “U Know”
from Art Official Age on Warner Bros.

Ritual Howls – “The Taste Of You”
from Turkish Leather on Felte

Ruby Fray – “Barbara”
from Grackle on K Records

The Rural Alberta Advantage – “On The Rocks”
from Mended with Gold on Saddle Creek Records

Sam Amidon – “Walkin’ Boss”
from Lily-O on Nonesuch

Sea Oleena – “If I’m”
from Shallow on Lefse Records

Sick of It All – “Road Less Traveled”
from Last Act of Defiance on Century Media

St. Christopher – “Gabriel”
from Forevermore Starts Here: Anthology 1984-2010 on Cherry Red

Steve Arrington’s Hall of Fame – “The Message”
from Way Out: 80-84 on Tummy Touch

Team Spirit – “Teenage Heart”
from Killing Time on Vice Records / Warner Bros.

Torch Runner – “Godlust”
from Endless Nothing on Southern Lord Records

The Vaselines – “One Lost Year”
from V for Vaselines on Rosary

Yelle – “Complètement Fou”
from Complètement Fou on Kemosabe Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories