In Stores Now 5/8

It’s a good week for comebacks. UK band Slowdive return with their first new album in 22 years. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it “a strong return-to-form of shoegazerish dream-pop with swirling, reverbed guitars, ethereal vocals, hazy harmonies and blissed-out melodies.” It’s been 17 years since the last from reunited El Paso-bred band At The Drive-In, and their latest is “a ferocious return-to-form of metallic, prog-tinged post-punk with blistering, complex guitar work, rapid-fire, tempo-shifting rhythms, urgent vocals and dystopian lyrics.” Minneapolis rapper Brother Ali returns with his sixth album and first in five years (not quite as up there in years), bringing “a strong set of hip hop combining a warm, soulful sound courtesy of Ant of Atmosphere with his exhortatory delivery and empathetic lyrics ranging from love and spirituality to racism and police brutality.”

On his third album, LA-based Canadian artist Mac DeMarco delivers “a darker and more dreamy take on his psych-tinged folk-pop, featuring a spare, relaxed sound with warm acoustic guitar, pillowy synths, unhurried rhythms, wistful melodies and often-melancholy lyrics.” Portland’s Moon Duo release the companion to Occult Architecture Vol. 1, which “contrasts Vol. 1’s cold, dark tone with a more light, airy and summery one for their hypnotic space-rock.” And Will Oldham (aka Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy) “pays tribute to country legend Merle Haggard on his latest Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy album with a wide-ranging, idiosyncratic selection of Haggard songs (and songs associated with him) from throughout his illustrious career, with most of them being fairly obscure.”

(Various Artists) Megan Sue Hicks – “Hey, Can You Come Out and Play “
from Follow the Sun on Anthology Recordings

Alice Coltrane – “Om Rama”
from World Spirituality Classics 1: The Ecstatic Music of Alice Coltrane Turiyasangitananda on Jowcol Music / Luaka Bop

At the Drive-In – “Continuum”
from in•ter a•li•a on Rise

Avishai Cohen – “Declectic Jazz”
from Cross My Palm with Silver on ECM

Bill MacKay – “Aster”
from Esker on Drag City

Black Lips – “Can’t Hold On”
from Satan’s Graffiti or God’s Art? on Black Lips / Vice

Blondie – “Doom Or Destiny”
from Pollinator on BMG

Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Bad Actor”
from Best Troubador on Drag City

Brother Ali – “Own Light (What Hearts Are For)”
from All the Beauty in This Whole Life on Rhymesayers Entertainment

Café Tacvba – “Disolviéndonos”
from Jei Beibi on self-released

Carl Craig – “At Les”
from Versus on Infine

Chris Stapleton – “Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning”
from From a Room, Vol. 1 on Decca / Mercury Nashville / Now!

Delia Gonzalez – “Horse Follows Darkness”
from Horse Follows Darkness on DFA

Diana Krall – “Night and Day”
from Turn Up the Quiet on Decca / Verve

Djustin – “Dancing”
from Voyagers on Labrador Records

Doug Tuttle – “Bait The Sun”
from Peace Potato on Trouble in Mind

Faust – “Fresh Air”
from Fresh Air on Bureau B

Fazerdaze – “Take it Slow”
from Morningside on Flying Nun

The Flaming Lips – “Listening to the Frogs with Demon Eyes (Live)”
from Onboard the International Space Station: Concert for Peace on The Flaming Lips / Warner Bros.

Föllakzoid / J. Spaceman – “Electric”
from London Sessions on Sacred Bones

Forest Swords – “The Highest Flood”
from Compassion on Ninja Tune

Grateful Dead – “Dancing In The Street”
from Cornell 5/8/77 on Grateful Dead / Rhino

Hoops – “On Letting Go”
from Routines on Fat Possum

Jesu / Sun Kil Moon – “Twenty Something”
from 30 Seconds to the Decline of Planet Earth on Caldo Verde Records

Joan Shelley – “Where I’ll Find You”
from Joan Shelley on No Quarter

John Moreland – “Sallisaw Blue”
from Big Bad Luv on 4AD

Juana Molina – “Cosoco”
from Halo on Crammed Discs

Keb’ Mo’ / Taj Mahal – “All Around The World”
from TajMo on Concord

Mac DeMarco – “This Old Dog”
from This Old Dog on Captured Tracks

Moon Duo – “Lost in Light”
from Occult Architecture, Vol. 2 on Sacred Bones

Motionless in White – “Eternally Yours”
from Graveyard Shift on Roadrunner Records

The Mountain Movers – “Angels Don’t Worry”
from The Mountain Movers on Trouble in Mind

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds
from Lovely Creatures: The Best of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, 1984-2014 on Mute

Ozomatli – “La Bamba” feat. Kyl McDonald of Slightly Stoopid
from Non-Stop: Mexico to Jamaica on Cleopatra

Penguin Cafe – “Cantorum”
from The Imperfect Sea on Erased Tapes Records

San Cisco – “Hey, Did I Do You Wrong?”
from The Water on Island City Records / MGM

Slowdive – “Sugar for the Pill”
from Slowdive on Dead Oceans Records

Sóley – “Never Cry Moon”
from Endless Summer on Morr Music

The Sword – “Maiden, Mother & Crone (Live)”
from Greetings From on Razor & Tie

Wooden Wand – “School’s Out”
from Clipper Ship on Three Lobed

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories