Tuesday Music News

photo by Gregory A. Perez

  • It’s an understatement to say that Björk doesn’t follow the rules. Nearly two and half years after the release of Vulnicura, she’s continuing to release videos for songs off the album. Not only that, but they’re videos for songs that she’s already released videos for! (When you’re one of the most recognizable names in music, you do what you want.) Today, Björk released the official music video for “Notget,” following the virtual reality video for the track that she released earlier this year. The video is directed by Warren Du Preez and Nick Thornton Jones and feature Bjork in an outfit similar to the one her VR avatar wore in the first video, fully transforming her into a very chic bug. No word on whether she’ll be touring anytime soon (but we’re not holding our breath). [ Pitchfork ]

  • Shabazz Palaces have released a new song from Quazarz Vs. The Jealous Machines, one of the two albums they’re releasing next month, the other titled Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star. The track “Julian’s Dream (ode to a bad)” is a dark and spacey cut featuring the Shogun Shot. They’ve previously released “Shine A Light,” “30 Clip Extension,” and “Since C.A.Y.A.”  Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star and Quazarz Vs. The Jealous Machines will be out July 14th via Sub Pop. No Seattle dates have been announced for the local art rap group. [ Stereogum ]

  • After cryptically teasing his album by sending fans jigsaw puzzles, Avey Tare (of Animal Collective) has officially announced his new album, Eucalyptus. It will be  released July 21st via Domino. David Michael Portner (Avey Tare) wrote and produced the album, which was recorded by Animal Collective’s Deakin (Josh Dibb). Former Dirty Projectors vocalist Angel Deradoorian is featured, as is Jessika Kenney, and there is chamber orchestration arranged by Eyvind Kang. No music from the album has been shared yet. A press release describes the album as such: “Recommended listening for dawn or dusk. An electroacoustic movement through leaves, rocks and dust. Written on sunlit bedroom afternoon in Los Angeles, practiced in the dark early hours of the California twilight, and slept on under Big Sur skies.” [ Under the Radar ]


  • Gothic pop artist Zola Jesus (Nika Roza Danilova) has returned with a new album, Okovi, scheduled to arrive September 8th. According to a press release, the music was “written in pure catharsis.” The LP serves as “a profound meditation on loss and reconciliation,” following a number of personal tragedies in Danilova’s life over the years. Okovi is a Slavic word for shackles and in a statement about the album, Danilova says, “We’re all shackled to something — to life, to death, to bodies, to minds, to illness, to people, to birthright, to duty. Each of us born with a unique debt, and we have until we die to pay it back. Without this cost, what gives us the right to live? And moreover, what gives us the right to die? Are we really even free to choose? This album is a deeply personal snapshot of loss, reconciliation, and a sympathy for the chains that keep us all grounded to the unforgiving laws of nature. To bring it to life, I decided to enlist the help of Alex DeGroot, who has been the only constant in my live band and helped mix the Stridulum EP back in 2010. It will be released on Sacred Bones, the closest group of people I’ll ever have to blood-bound family.” Danilova has shared the first track off of Okovi called “Exhumed” and will be in Seattle on Thursday, October 19th at the Crocodile. [ Consequence of Sound ]

  • Canadian indie-pop darlings Alvvays have finally announced the follow-up to their critically acclaimed 2014 self-titled debut. The album will be called Antisocialites and will be out September 8th on Polyvinyl Records. They’ve also shared the first single from the new album and it brings the same warm surfy dream pop that they brought in their debut, just in time to soundtrack Summer 2017. In a press release, frontwoman Molly Rankin said, “This record is a fantasy breakup arc and my life nearly imitated art.” In conjunction with the album, they’ve announced a world tour, with a date in Seattle on October 28th at the Showbox. No ticket links have become available yet. [ Paste ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories