Thursday Music News

photo by Brittney Bush Bollay (view set)

  • Melbourne’s Cut Copy have announced the name of their forthcoming album, Haiku From Zero, and shared the second single from it. Called “Standing In The Middle Of The Field,” it follows last month’s “Airborne” and will be the album’s opening track. Frontman Dan Whitford said this about the new album, “So much of this album is about this mosaic of information, images that we’re surrounded by on a day-to-day basis. Sometimes it feels like overload, but there’s a weird random beauty in it. The idea of squeezing poetry from chaos was where the title of the album came from — the idea of finding something poetic in the overload.” Haiku From Zero is due out September 22 via Astralwerks. [ Under the Radar ]
  • Jason Isbell and his backing band The 400 Unit released the latest album The Nashville Sound earlier this summer. Today they’ve shared the animated video for “If We Were Vampires,” directed by Joshua Britt and Neilson Hubbard. Isbell said of the video, ““I love the story the video tells, the colors, and the pace of movement. The song deals with death as motivation, the way love changes, and the persistence of time, and I see these themes in the beautiful animation.” Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit will be in Seattle on Tuesday, September 12 to play the Paramount Theatre. [ Stereogum ]
  • We’re anxiously counting down the days until The War On Drugs release their highly-anticipated new album A Deeper Understanding and we’re getting close! 15 days! In the meantime, the band visited Jimmy Kimmel Live to perform their latest single “Pain.” A Deeper Understanding is out August 25 on Atlantic. Catch all the best live TV performances with our weekly roundup column TV Eye and don’t miss The War On Drugs when they stop by The Moore Theatre on Monday, October 9 and Tuesday, October 10. [ Consequence of Sound ]
  • It’s been 10 years since Spoon released their critically beloved album Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga and in honor of that Merge Records is releasing a deluxe reissue of the album. The album has been completely remasted and the reissue will include a second disc of the band’s Get Nice! EP, which was released shortly after Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga. The reissue will be out October 20 with new cover art and a new layout. [ Spin ]
  • Swedish electronic duo The Knife posted two cryptic videos to their long-dormant Facebook page today, possibly suggesting a reunion. The band called it quits in 2014, after their Shaking The Habitual tour. In one of the mysterious videos, called “Mother Of Knives Cooking Class,” we see a woman doing some rather strange things with food while being soundtracked by the song “Networking” and in the other one, we witness a gummy cherry being cut in half. The meaning of the videos are unclear but we can hope that it means new music from The Knife is underway. [ NME ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories