Thursday Music News

photo by Dave Lichterman (view set)

  • Perennially nice guy Mac DeMarco has put four test pressings of his 2012 EP Rock and Roll Night Club up for sale via Discogs. Each pressing is unique, featuring different doodles and signatures by DeMarco. And proceeds will go to benefit Waves for Water, a Caribbean hurricane relief initiative. (DeMarco’s label Captured Tracks have sweetened the deal by offering to match up to $250 per record.) Test pressings are on sale now. If you’re looking for more ways to help those in Puerto Rico and Mexico City, KEXP has compiled a list of resources here. [ Pitchfork ]

  • Minnesota experimental lo-fi musician John Maus announced he would be releasing his first album in six years, entitled Screen Memories. He also released the first single “The Combine” off of it and today he’s shared the second one, “Teenage Witch.” The accompanying visual was directed by Jennifer Juniper Stratford and features footage of Maus as a teenager, goofing around and being the weirdo we’ve come to know. Screen Memories is out October 27 via Ribbon Music. [ Stereogum ]

  • Wolf Parade stopped by The Late Show with Stephen Colbert last night to perform “Valley Boy” off of their latest full-length Cry Cry Cry. Released last Friday, the album is the band’s first in seven years. Wolf Parade are playing the Showbox on Saturday, January 13 with Brooklyn band Charly Bliss. [ Under the Radar ]

  • Wilco are following in the footsteps of The White Stripes and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs by releasing deluxe reissues of their early albums. The band will release 1995’s A.M. and 1996’s Being There in deluxe sets that include never-before-released studio outtakes, alternate takes, and demos of songs. They’re also including the last song Tweedy recorded with his band before Wilco, Uncle Tupelo, called “When You Find Trouble.” They’ve shared a live recording of the band performing “Passenger Side” at the Troubadour in Los Angeles in 1996 exclusively with Rolling Stone. Both reissues will be available December 1 via Rhino Records. [ Rolling Stone ]
  • Speaking of those Yeah Yeah Yeahs reissues, the band has shared a scuzzy demo of “Black Tongue” in anticipation of their forthcoming reissue of their debut studio album Fever To Tell. The demo follows the unveiling of previously unreleased tracks “Phone Jam” and “Shake It,” also to be included on the reissue. A documentary titled There Is No Modern Romance, shot during their 2003 tour, will be included as well. Fever To Tell: Deluxe Remastered is out October 20 via Interscope. [ Pitchfork ]
  • Hamilton Leithauser is no stranger to collaborations. His most recent big release was a full album with Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij in 2016 and today he’s shared a new collaboration with indie chanteuse Angel Olsen. Called “Heartstruck (Wild Hunger)” Leithauser explains that the song is about, “catching yourself off guard when an emotion hits a little harder than you were ready for. It’s a desperate and funny situation. The desperation can be a little bit ridiculous, which can be a little bit funny, but it’s also desperate, so it’s agonizing. I thought “Wild Hunger” should be delivered with huge passion and energy, and I needed a fierce and booming voice as a counterbalance. Luckily, I got my first choice: Angel Olsen.” Leithauser will be in Seattle on Wednesday, November 15 to play the Neptune Theatre. [ Paste ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories