Iceland Airwaves is Here Again!

Photos by Jim Bennett

It’s Tuesday afternoon here in charming Reykjavik, Iceland, and the city is gearing up for one of its biggest events of the year: Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. People are talking about new bands, comparing notes and schedules, and are preparing for five full days jam-packed with live music from all over the world. Though the festival doesn’t officially start until tomorrow, we’re getting things going early, streaming two great Icelandic acts to shake your booty to. Warming up the stage at Kex Hostel tonight will be Bangoura Band, an afro-beat band from The Reykjavik suburb of Kópavogur–streaming at 8PM local time (1pm PST/3pm EST) and DJ duo Kiasmos (one half of which is Ólafur Arnalds-brilliant composer and long-time friend of KEXP) streaming live at 10 pm locally (3pm PST/6pm EST). We aren’t waiting to get our Airwaves 2017 going, and neither should you! Stream the video live here, and be sure to tune in all week for our annual live broadcast and live stream on Facebook and at KEXP.org.

This entry was posted in Iceland Airwaves, KEXP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories